California Childcare CPR and First Aid Update: AED Training now Required
Effective immediately, AED training is required by EMSA for California's childcare providers. Please ensure that you are teaching AED in all California childcare courses (initial or renewal).
Use the AED Workbook Supplement for the current version of the EMS Safety CPR/First Aid for Childcare Providers workbook.
You can download the Free Childcare AED Supplement by clicking HERE or by accessing it from the Instructor Corner at wwww.emssafety.com/login under the 'Course Documents' section and selecting the 'Childcare CPR and First Aid' program category.
Would you find a video example of how to teach AED helpful? Check out the Teaching by Topic video with EMS Safety Instructor Trainer, Jon Hebert below:
Don't Have an AED Trainer?
EMS Safety understands this change came very quickly. That's why we're offering EMS Safety Instructors special promotions on AED trainers for a limited time. Call (800) 215-9555 and speak to a customer service representative to find out more today.
California Childcare CPR and First Aid Update: Fine Print
- According to EMSA, Pediatric CPR should include lecture and practice on:
- Adult, child and infant CPR
- Adult and Pediatric AED use
- Show the AED use video chapter from the CPR/AED for Community Rescuers DVD.
- Discuss all content from the AED Supplement
- Ensure that 'AED' is checked on the student's provider card.
- There is no change to the required hours
- Pediatric CPR (with AED) needs to be completed in 4 hours or more.
- Pediatric First Aid needs to be at least 4 hours.
Thank you for your cooperation. Please contact your territory representatives if you have any further questions.